SBG

In the vein of asking questions:

I’m starting to implement standards-based grading in two weeks–I’ll stick with my current grading system for the rest of the quarter, and then switch to standards-based grading for quarter three. I have my standards mapped out and have written several assessments. I feel confident about the structure of my curriculum, and I have templates for students to see their standards breakdown and track their progress.

My biggest question is:

I see a critical part of problem solving, and in particular the Common Core Standards for Mathematical Practice, to be synthesizing multiple content standards in one question. Bringing together similar triangles and the Pythagorean Theorem, or reflecting lines on the coordinate plane and analyzing the resulting functions and their slopes and y-intercepts. I also see these as valuable teaching tools to stretch my students’ thinking while practicing content standards. How do these fit into SBG? It doesn’t seem valid to include them in standards assessments.

My current plan–I have 9 standards that I will assess in quarter 3, in addition to one in-class project (making scale drawings, Esher wahoo!). I’m planning on dividing my gradebook between theses standards and about 5 two-question synthesis task assignments that students will get class time to work on, and then take home and turn in the next day. The idea is that I’m looking for the quality of work, explanations, and precision of usage. I’m not sure what this will look like, and how to make sure I’m assessing students fairly and in a way they understand.

Ideas?

Leave a Reply

