NCTM – Are Students Using Technology or Is Technology Using Them?

I was only in Avery’s presentation for 20 minutes as I was running down the hall for a session on number talks, but in the time I was there he brought up a touchstone I want to come back to whenever I use technology in the classroom – is the cognitive load of the students on the technology or on the math?

Technology that acts as a window to rich context, intuition and engagement is great. Technology that distracts from the mathematics–even if the mathematics presented is high-leverage–is taking away from students’ experiences. I definitely want to keep that with me as I think about bringing more tech into my classroom.

Leave a Reply

