Math Survey – Teachers

I am taking Justin Lanier’s call to action from his talk “Beyond Beauty” at the Global Math Department. I will be dedicating two days this week to getting meta about math with my students, but more on that later. I started with a survey to all of the staff at my school, inspired by Andrew Gael’s post this week. The survey I gave looked like this:

Screenshot 2015-05-17 at 9.23.51 PM

Here were the results (n=23, out of 39 total staff who could have responded):

Screenshot 2015-05-17 at 9.27.53 PM Screenshot 2015-05-17 at 9.17.09 PM

Interesting, and very different from Andrew’s results. I have plenty of thoughts here, especially contrasting these views with my elevator speech for “Why Math?”, but I’ll leave my personal opinions out for now. My question is — how will this correlate with my students’ views of math?

To be continued…

3 thoughts on “Math Survey – Teachers

  1. Andrew

    Dylan,

    I LOVE the word cloud idea for the teachers! I just asked why they chose the one they did and got some good insight from that. I didn’t want to share the whys because I thought that they should remain somewhat private, but the word cloud idea is totally shareable and worthwhile!

    Maybe I’ll do a follow up with my staff using your word cloud prompt!

    Thanks Dylan!

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Math Survey – Students | Five Twelve Thirteen

Leave a Reply

