Student-Centered or Pedagogy-Centered?

In my second year teaching I received a piece of feedback I still think about. I was using number talks as a daily warmup, asking students to use mental math to make estimations, compare arithmetic strategies, and analyze visual patterns. My principal had stopped by a few times to see what was going on. And in a meeting after one of those visits, he shared the observation that my students hadn’t seemed to get any better at number talks over the last several weeks.

He was right. I can give lots of reasons now why my number talks didn’t make a difference. I didn’t create a culture where students listened to each others’ strategies. I chose problems haphazardly, without sequencing them toward coherent goals. I made the number talks too difficult too fast.

But those problems masked a deeper issue. I wasn’t looking for evidence of student learning. I was convinced that number talks were a great routine, that students had so much to benefit by improving their number sense. But I wasn’t willing to be wrong. I was so focused on the routines and structures I created as a teacher that I ignored the actual goal of learning.

In the online-math-education-writing space, it’s much easier to focus on the inputs than the outputs. It’s easier to argue that teachers should do this or not do that than to think about how students experience the math classroom. But I’m a better teacher when I focus on what students experience first, and my actions as a teacher second.

I’m not sure, but I think these are my values for the student experience, more or less in order:

  • I want students to see that they have agency in their learning; that when they work hard they are able to learn math.
  • I want students to consistently recognize their own successes.
  • I want students to recognize that I care about their success.
  • I want students to enjoy learning math.

I care about these experiences because I find them self-perpetuating. When students feel agency they are more likely to persevere through challenges in the future. When students feel successful they develop a positive self-concept as mathematicians and see themselves continuing their math education. When students see that I care about their success they are willing to ask for help when they need it and let me know when things aren’t working. When students enjoy learning math they show up to class ready to think hard and engage.

But it’s easy to focus on the inputs. To assume that if I teach a certain way, students will have a positive experience and everything will be great. That type of thinking encourages me not to notice what’s actually happening in my classroom. I become an ideologue, spouting truisms about the way math should be taught and blaming students if they don’t learn. I’ve done this in two directions. I’ve practiced “I do, we do, you do,” telling students, “I explained it,” confused when they didn’t understand. And I’ve tried to lead students to their own understanding, telling students, “you’ll understand it if you figure it out yourself,” and griped afterward about how my students aren’t independent enough.

In both of these cases, the students who succeed are the students who have been successful in the past. They’re the students with more privilege and more social capital, who are more likely to receive affirmations from teachers and to have a positive self-concept as a learner. If I’m not willing to ask myself hard questions about how students experience my class, I’m teaching for the students who need it the least. In both cases, I’m treating students as a variable and my pedagogical choices as a constant. Instead, I want to see my pedagogy as the variable, and to measure the success of pedagogy by the experiences of the students in the room.

4 thoughts on “Student-Centered or Pedagogy-Centered?

  1. goldenoj

    Whew! “I want to see my pedagogy as the variable, and to measure the success of pedagogy by the experiences of the students in the room.” That’s my most cherished outcome in teacher prep, expressed better than I ever have. Feels like a key part of making teaching matter.

    Reply
    1. dkane47 Post author

      Yup. But it’s so hard to talk about, because typically when we talk about teaching there aren’t any students in the room. It’s easy to ignore even though it seems to fundamental.

      Reply
  2. GW

    Thank you for this post. A lot of what you have written resonates with my experiences as a teacher. Remembering to always put the students first is a great principle to live by in the classroom. Do you have any insights or strategies that help you do that? How does putting the student experience first change the way you select problems or tasks, or design your instruction?

    Today, I was faced with a dilemma with my instructional plan for a geometry lesson. I knew that I would be gone for two days next week at a training and with spring break looming ahead, I am feeling the dreaded time crunch to “cover” a certain volume of material in a seemingly limited amount of time. Our lesson was on vectors and their trigonometric applications. This is the type of less on where there are several “direct instruction” items due the nature of the content. Definitions, notation, vocab, and several different different types of examples to work through before you can build up to the meaty resultant vector applications involving navigation and the like. I was trying to pare down the lesson as much as possible to reduce the amount of time I was guiding or instructing students and to maximize the amount of time they would be thinking and doing math on their own or in groups. Even so, it took me the better part of 40 minutes to get through the direct instruction portion of the lesson. With each passing minute, I could feel the attention span and collective patience of my students dissipating. I know their experience was not optimal and most students’ engagement level barely registered a blip on the scale. The question is, how can I improve on that? Are there some situations where longer lessons are just the nature of the beast? Or do I need to get more creative so that I would never allow something like that to happen?

    I would love to hear your thoughts and insights on this kind of situation.

    Reply
    1. dkane47 Post author

      I’ve experienced what you’re describing more times than I can count. And I think the first step is doing what you just did – recognizing that it’s a problem that’s worth solving, rather than saying “well that’s just the way it is.”

      I don’t think I have any easy solutions for you. I often try to find a way to make the seemingly boring intermediate steps into little puzzles, but the tension between taking the time to do things well and covering what we need to cover can drive a lot of nonideal pedagogy.

      Reply

Leave a comment